Clockwork VS Flesh, a Battle of Golems

Cling clang crash! Whirrr tick tick tick!
Technology marches on! Science marches on!
Look how shiny! How big and loud!
Hear the engines roar!

Th-thump th-thump, THUD!
HEY,  what’s this in the way of my science?
This is not MY science! Mine is full of whirring,
stirring, swirling clouds of smoke and steam!

This fleshy thing can not be science!
It is full of non-logic! It FEELS and does not think!
Who would listen to this?
After all, clanking, swerving, clicking SCIENCE does not need hugs.

No, no hugs for me.
I will hide in the gray thing, and not heed the dull fleshy thumping.
Yes, yes, this must be wisdom.
What is that you say?
BE LOUDER, I can’t hear you over the whirring clanking science. . .

How odd, I can’t seem to hear anything, or see either.
I must have forgotten some important part. . .
Perhaps the thudding thing was needed?

But why would I need such a wishy washy
squishy squashy thing when I have Logic?
Maybe there is something useful there?

***

Sunlight feels nice, but not too much.
Grass under toes is soft and tender.
Whyever would anyone go inside the smoking lands?

I like the warm sun and soft breeze.
Clanking hurts my ears! Who cares if the river floods, just stop that infernal crashing chirruping whirring!

I don’t like that because I don’t!
Your logic is silly and full of holes!
I don’t need to tell you why, I just know it.
Of course I am right.

What do I care if I can’t move,
the sun feels nice.
It does.
Really.  I am not just saying it.

***

Silly Golems.
Don’t you know you are supposed to work together?
Hand in hand,
heart and brain,
energy and direction.

Why do people in stories always act so silly?

Leave a Reply

